North West Territory Canada the Final Frontier

North West Territory Canada

The Great Bear Lake. Other large bodies of water are, Great Slave lake, Keller Lake and the Mackenzie river. Other geographical features are the canyons in Nahanni National Park. The park is a national reserve and UNESCO World Heritage Site. The Canadian arctic territorial islands include, Banks island, Borden island and Prince Albert island. Boundaries also include parts of Melville island and Victoria island. Mount Nirvana near the Yukon border is the highest elevation point. 2,773 meters (9,098 ft.) The climate is slightly warmer in the North West Territory compared to neighboring territory Nunavut. It is mostly Boreal forest compared to Nunavut and its vast amounts of arctic tundra.

NWT Business

borders the territories Yukon in the west and Nunavut in the east. It also borders 3 provinces. British Columbia to the southwest, Saskatchewan and Alberta to the southwest.The N.W.T. is a large tract of land encompassing 1,140.835 sq. kilometers (440,00 sq miles) The population has been steadily increasing. Roughly 50,000 people live in the territory. The population fluctuates with seasonal activities. In 1967. Yellowknife became the capital of North West Territory Canada after the Carrothers Commission.

North West Territory has the largest lake entirely in Canada

View Larger Map

The North West Territories have a large climate change from north to south. Encompassing 1,300,000 square miles, or 500,000 square miles. The north region and islands have a Polar climate. The mainland region In the south is mostly a Subarctic climate. The south enjoys a warm but short summer. Temperatures can reach into the 30+ degrees or more. (90+F) Long cold winters with minus 20-30 degrees.

Winters in the North region can be extremely challenging with high winds and very low temperatures. In the summer the days are mostly sunlight. The opposite happens in winter. Being near or in the Arctic circle, brings many hours of darkness and cold during winter. Minus 50 below and lower temperatures have been recorded. Summer can have days reaching into the 30+, but not many in number. Extreme weather such as tornadoes is rare, but it has happened. Most recent would be the collapse of a communications tower near Yellowknife, after it was hit by a tornado. The mountain range in the west gives the territory a fairly dry climate.

North West Territory Government

Territories have fewer rights than provinces. During Premier Kakfwi term, it was pushed for the territory to have more rights. Including a greater share of the territories vast natural resources.

In 2003 during general election, devolution powers of the territory were a hot issue. It has been an ongoing dispute since 1881 when the territory began electing members.

The NWT commissioner is the chief executive. Appointed by the Governor-in Council of Canada by recommendation of the Federal Minister of Indian and Northern Development. With the devolution of more powers, the federal government has instructed commissioners to engage their position like a provincial lieutenant governor. A North West Territories commissioner is not a formal representative of the Queen of Canada.

Government leader or now known as the Premier, exercise government powers.

After a general election the new parliament elects the premier and speaker by secret ballot. 7 MLAs are chosen as cabinet ministers. The remainder form the opposition. Head of State used to be a commissioner appointed by the Federal government. This role has changed since 1980 when greater self control was give to the territory.

The government of the North West territories does not have political parties. Only in the period between 1898 and 1905. A consensus government called the Legislative Assembly is composed of one member from each 19 constituencies.